Paris Day Three: As Low-key as Sight-seeing Can Get

Exhausted from the previous day’s excursion, Krista and I took this day a little slower, polishing off the last few things on our “to-do” list. We started this day’s adventure with a visit to an open air market. Here I purchased my first “abroad earrings”. A brief aside: wherever my sisters traveled outside of the country, they returned with a pair of earrings from the respective country. Now that I am abroad, I can add to my “earrings from around the world” collection myself! These Parisian earrings are my first!

001

We then followed up with a lovely breakfast of orange juice, coffee, and croissants at a little cafe near by. The owner of the cafe, we found out after we said that we were from the U.S., was going to a Michael Bublé concert later that night. That, combined with the best croissant I have ever had made this cafe my favorite of our visit.

Breakfast

There is a reason France is known for croissants. Over the course of three days, I consumed at least five.

After a lunch meeting up with an old friend of Krista’s whom she met while studying abroad in Australia; a visit to the Palais de la Decouverte was our afternoon. Here we learned about the strange creepy ways of ants and listened to a demonstration on static electricity in French. We bid farewell and started our trek up the Avenue des Champs-Élysées to visit the Arc de Triomphe in the sunset. Commissioned in 1806 by Napolean, this Neoclassical arch was built to commemorate his victory at Austerlitz. Many selfies proceeded from here, but I will spare you of that plague (as well as ourselves of embarrassment).

450 Arc du Triomph straight on

With the sun behind us, and a bit of the evening to spare, Krista and I decided to head back to the Eiffel Tower for an encore to bookend our trip. Lucky for us, we got there right before the hour mark when it starts to twinkle.

492

What a wonderful way to spend three days before heading to Greece! From eating mysterious items that we can’t pronounce, to wandering in random Churches, to hunting down beignets. I am so blessed to have a sister willing to show me the ropes of travel and navigation in a foreign country. Stay tuned to hear of the semester in Greece!

“It is good to have an end to journey toward; but it is the journey that matters, in the end.” ― Ernest Hemingway

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

